jump to navigation

Why I Won’t Watch the VP Debate 02 Oct 2008

Posted by Jessa in Politics.
Tags: ,
trackback

Even though I am a political junkie, I just can’t bring myself to do it.  I’ve had enough of Sarah Palin to last several lifetimes.

Why?  Because she’s a walking example of the Dunning-Kruger effect.  It’s not just that she does she not seem to know much about the things a VP should know.  It’s that, after she rambles through an incoherent non-answer that leaves even Katie Couric shaking her head, she sits back looking so pleased with herself.  There’s self-confidence, and then there’s complete delusion.

I’m sure she’ll get through tonight.  After all, the bar has now been set so low that if she manages not to throw up or pass out, it will be deemed a success.

Meanwhile, I will be in a much happier place, watching my DVDs of season two of Torchwood.

Comments»

1. leon Richard - 02 Oct 2008

Be wasting your time watching the debate anyway. Your mind was made up months ago, by the ‘D’ after Biden and Obama’s names anyway.

2. Jessa - 02 Oct 2008

Actually, I’m not a Democrat.

Interesting, though. I didn’t know that it was a partisan position to expect that a candidate for the second-highest office in the land should be knowledgeable about the issues.

3. hollyhol - 02 Oct 2008

Well now we know how leon decides who to vote for.

Don’t project your behavior onto others. A lot of us decide who to vote for by *gasp* actually looking at the candidates’ stances on the issues and going with the one who best aligns with our own stances, regardless of party.

Radical concept. You should try it sometime, leon. I know it’s tougher than just looking for the (R), but I’m sure you can manage it.


Leave a Reply

