jump to navigation

Decidedly Undecided 05 Feb 2008

Posted by Jessa in Politics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’m known among my friends as a politics junkie, so it comes as a surprise to many of them that I haven’t decided for whom I am going to vote.

I have done some elimination.  The Republicans were ruled out almost immediately.  All of the front-runners have one or more deal-breaker positions that make it impossible for me to support them.  So at least it’s narrowed down to the Democrats.

When it comes to Clinton vs. Obama, I’m genuinely undecided.  From my perspective, there’s not much difference between them, policy-wise.  Sure, they have some differences, but they’re not significant enough to sway me to one or the other.  When it comes to Iraq, I don’t care about what someone did in the past as much as what they will do in the future.  They both want a withdrawal – that’s what’s important to me.  As for health care, any legislation will have to go through Congress and will likely bear little resemblance to either candidate’s vision once the House and Senate are through with it.

My choice for president doesn’t really matter anyway because my vote is totally meaningless.  My state’s primary is too late in the season; the choice will already be made by then.  Also, my state has gone Republican for as long as anyone can remember.  The GOP could nominate a bowl of oatmeal for president and it would carry my state.

In the end, the only thing my vote is good for is bitching rights.  And I’ve been exercising that right quite often in the last 7 years.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

