jump to navigation

Free Gift With Purchase 15 Jan 2008

Posted by Jessa in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

One of my friends has a birthday coming up, and he requested a copy of “The God Delusion”. So I headed over to my local independent bookseller and picked one up. I was waiting in line to check out, so I flipped through the pages to pass the time. And what did I find nestled in the pages?

A Chick Tract. “Big Daddy?“, to be exact.

I haven’t seen one of these in years. Ah, brings back memories. Chick Tracts were the favorite proselytizing method for Christian groups at my college. You could find them everywhere, but they appeared most frequently in bathrooms and the cafeteria. I don’t know how effective they actually were for converting people, but they provided me with much amusement.

It turns out that the bookstore has been having a problem with a local church group “tract bombing” their science section on a regular basis. The group is pretty sneaky about it – they send different people each time so that the employees won’t recognize them. It seems a bit sad to me that people think littering in a private business is an acceptable way to spread their message.

add to del.icio.us Add to Blinkslist add to furl Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It! add to simpy seed the vine TailRank

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

