jump to navigation

Bad News: Terry Pratchett Has Early-Onset Alzheimer’s 12 Dec 2007

Posted by Jessa in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

In what he titled “An Embuggerance” on his post, Terry Pratchett announced that he has a rare form of early-onset Alzheimer’s. But he still has his marvelous sense of humor, as seen in the post-script of his post:

PS I would just like to draw attention to everyone reading the above that this should be interpreted as ‘I am not dead’. I will, of course, be dead at some future point, as will everybody else. For me, this maybe further off than you think – it’s too soon to tell. I know it’s a very human thing to say “Is there anything I can do”, but in this case I would only entertain offers from very high-end experts in brain chemistry.

Terry Pratchett is one of my favorite authors, and the originator of one of my favorite quotes:

God does not play dice with the universe; He plays an ineffable game of his own devising, which might be compared, from the perspective of any of the other players, to being involved in an obscure and complex version of poker in a pitch dark room, with blank cards, for infinite stakes, with a dealer who won’t tell you the rules, and who smiles all the time.

Best wishes, Terry.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

