jump to navigation

Time To Worry About Grandma 10 Dec 2007

Posted by Jessa in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Grandmothers and other relatives of college students, that is. Having been a TA in graduate school, I can relate to the following “report”: “The Dead Grandmother/Exam Syndrome and the Potential Downfall Of American Society“.

The basic problem can be stated very simply: A student’s grandmother is far more likely to die suddenly just before the student takes an exam, than at any other time of year.

So students, be sure to check on your elderly relatives. You wouldn’t want to miss an exam, would you?

True story (and decidedly unfunny): My grandfather died five days before I was scheduled to defend my doctoral dissertation.  I obviously couldn’t miss the funeral, and I wasn’t about to try to reschedule my defense (it took me two months to find a date when all of my committee members were free).  So I had to scramble and fly halfway across the country for the funeral, then fly back in time to defend.  It was a horrible week.  Thank FSM for benzodiazepines.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

